Make your own free website on

Troop 133 Cub Scouts


What's Happening
Scout Themes & Activities
What We Do
Den Awards
Boy Scouts
All About Ky, places to go, things to do



This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

A new Webelos Scout must first have earned the Bobcat Badge before becoming a Webelos Scout, where he will then begin to earn his Webelos Badge. (If the boy had been in Cub Scouts previously, he would have already earned the Bobcat Badge.)

Activity badges are sorted into five discipline-related groups. They are the Community Group, the Mental Skills Group, the Outdoor Group, the Physical Skills Group, and the Technology Group. Activity Badges can be displayed on the front of the Webelos cap or on the Webelos Colors. During this period, the Webelos Scout should also begin to attend meetings led by adults, and become more familiar with the Boy Scout requirements.

After earning the Webelos badge, the Webelos Scout may recieve the Compass Points emblem and gold 'devices' to pin on it as an incentive to complete additional Activity Badges.

Completion of the Forester, Outdoorsman, and Naturalist Activities Badges, and completion of a special consevation project allows a Webelos Scout to join the Wolves and Bears in earning the World Conservation Award as well.

Arrow of Light

The Arrow of Light Award, Cub Scouting's highest award and the only Cub Scout badge you may wear on your Boy Scout uniform.
The Arrow of Light Award displays an American Indian sign for the sun and, below it, an arrow. The seven rays of the sun stand for each day of the week. They remind you do do your best every day as you follow the arrow that leads to Boy Scouting.


  1. Have an adult member of your family read the Webelos Scout Parent Guide that comes with this book (Webelos Handbook, Pages 1-22) and sign here.
  2. Be an active member of your Webelos den for 3 months (Active means having good attendance, paying den dues, working on den projects).
  3. Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos badge.
  4. Point out the three special parts of the Webelos Scout uniform. Tell when to wear the uniform and when not to wear it.
  5. Earn the Fitness and Citizen activity badges and one other activity badge from a different activity badge group.
  6. Plan and lead a flag ceremony in your den that includes the U.S. flag.
  7. Show that you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy Scout.
    1. Demonstrate the Scout salute, Scout sign, and Scout handshake. Explain when you would use them.
    2. Explain the Scout Oath, Scout Law, Scout motto, and Scout slogan
    3. Explain and agree to follow the Outdoor Code.
  8. Faith
    After completing the rest of requirement 8, do these (a, b, and c):
    1. Know: Tell what you have learned about faith.
    2. Commit: Tell how these faith experiences help you live your duty to God. Name one faith practice that you will continue to do in the future.
    3. Practice: After doing these requirements, tell what you have learned about your beliefs.

    And do one of these (d OR e):

    1. Earn the religious emblem of your faith*
    2. Do two of these:
      • Attend the mosque, church, synagogue, temple, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious leader about your beliefs. Tell your family and your Webelos den leader what you learned.
      • Discuss with your family and Webelos den leader how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law, and what character-building traits your religious beliefs have in common with the Scout Oath and Scout Law.
      • With your religious leader, discuss and make a plan to do two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things for a month.
      • For at least a month, pray or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, temple, mosque, synagogue, or religious group.
      • Under the direction of your religious leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos den leader. Tell them how it made you feel.
      • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.


  • If you earned your faith's religious emblem earlier in Cub Scouting, and your faith does not have a Webelos religious emblem, you must complete requirement 8e.
  • Completion of requirement 8e does not qualify a youth to receive the religious emblem of his faith.
  • Religious Emblems are listed in the Webelos Handbook, pages 68-69. (A list of the religious emblems available to Cub Scouts is available on the BSA website.  Click here to see them.)

In addition to Rank Advancements and Sports and Academic Loops and Pins, Cub Scouts may earn a number of other Badges and Awards.  The requirements for the following awards can be found on this site:

The following Award is NOT a BSA Award, but is referenced for your information, since it can be earned by Cub Scouts:

Enter supporting content here