Make your own free website on

Troop 133 Cub Scouts

What's Happening
Scout Themes & Activities
What We Do
Den Awards
Boy Scouts
All About Ky, places to go, things to do


Den 9 Troop 133 Cub Scouts
Grayson, Ky


About Our Den
We are sponsored by and meet in the
Bagby Memorial United Methodist Church,
201 N. Hord St., 
every Tuesday at 6:00 pm with the last week of the month being a Pack Meeting.
Our first Den Meeting was on October 4,2005.

We learn, we play games, we go on hikes, we go to camp, we have a pinewood derby race, we have field trips, we have banquets & picnics, we make projects and many more activities.

The Purposes of Cub Scouting

Since 1930, the Boy Scouts of America has helped younger boys through Cub Scouting. It is a year-round family program designed for boys who are in the first grade through fifth grade (or 7, 8, 9, and 10 years of age). Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the purposes of Cub Scouting. Currently, Cub Scouting is the largest of the BSA's three membership divisions. (The others are Boy Scouting and Venturing.)

The 10 purposes of Cub Scouting are:

  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun and Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

Advancement Plan

Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.

Tiger Cub. The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade (or age 7) boys and their adult partners. There are five Tiger Cub achievement areas. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.

Bobcat. The Bobcat rank is for all boys who join Cub Scouting.

Wolf. The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.

Bear. The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

Webelos. This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

Character Development

Since its origin, the Scouting program has been an educational experience concerned with values. In 1910, the first activities for Scouts were designed to build character, physical fitness, practical skills, and service. These elements were part of the original Cub Scout program and continue to be part of Cub Scouting today.

Character can be defined as the collection of core values possessed by an individual that leads to moral commitment and action. Core values are the basis of good character development. In helping boys develop character, Cub Scouting promotes the following 12 core values.

Cub Scouting's 12 Core Values

  1. Citizenship -Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
  2. Compassion -Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
  3. Cooperation -Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal.
  4. Courage -Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, the difficulties, or the consequences.
  5. Faith -Having inner strength and confidence based on our trust in God.
  6. Health and fitness -Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
  7. Honesty -Telling the truth and being worthy of trust.
  8. Perseverance -Sticking with something and not giving up, even if it is difficult.
  9. Positive attitude -Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
  10. Resourcefulness -Using human and other resources to their fullest.
  11. Respect -Showing regard for the worth of something or someone.
  12. Responsibility -Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves.

These core values are the basis of good character development, and must be promoted in all aspects and all stages of a young man's life!  To encourage this, Cub Scout Character Connections asks Cub Scouts to KNOW, COMMIT, and PRACTICE these values.  

Cub Scouts are challenged to connect core values in six general areas: God, world, country, community, family, and self.

Cub Scouting Ideals

Apart from the fun and excitement of Cub Scout activities, the Cub Scout Promise, the Law of the Pack, the Tiger Cub motto, and the Cub Scout sign, handshake, motto, and salute all teach good citizenship and contribute to a boy's sense of belonging.

Fact sheet from the Boy Scouts of America

Friends of Scouting
Friends of Scouting provides some of the funds we need to teach scouting principles that will result in a positive influence on character, citizenship, and personal fitness. The youth of today are America's future leaders. You can help shape America's future by investing in Scouting today.

Pack Organization

Pack Administration

Guide to Safe Scouting
Youth Protection in Scouting
Youth Member Behavior Guidelines
Leadership Requirements for Trips & Outings
Aquatics Safety
Instructors for Safe Swim Defense & Safety Afloat Training
Safe Swim Defense
Classification of Swimming Ability
Pool & Surf Swimming
Safety Afloat
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
Water Clarity
BSA Lifeguard
Swimming Area
Diving & Elevated Entry
Scuba BSA
Scuba Policy
American Whitewater Guidelines


Age Guidelines

Family Camping

Cub Scout Overnight Opportunities

Wilderness Camping

Trail Safety

Beware of Lightning

Pure Drinking Water

BSA Property Smart


Rabies Prevention

Drug, Alcohol, and Tobacco Use and Abuse

Emergency Preparedness Plan

Emergency Preparedness Kit

Emergency Contact List

First Aid

First-Aid Kits

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

Protection Considerations for Bloodborne Pathogens


Chemical Fuels

Guidelines for Safely Using Chemical Stoves and Lanterns

Flammability Warning



Cub Scout Standards

Boy Scout Standards

Venturing Standards

The Sweet 16 of BSA Safety


Judo, Tai Chi, and Aikido

Climbing and Rappelling

Project COPE Activities

Unauthorized and Restricted Activities

Carbon Tetrachloride


Rope Monkey Bridges

Parade Floats and Hayrides

Unit Fund-raisers

Tractor Safety

Bike Safety

Skating Guidelines

Horsemanship Activities

Meeting Room

Motor Vehicles

Unit Camping



Life-Threatening Communicable Diseases

Sun Safety

Religious Beliefs and Medical Care



Campers, Trailers, and Trucks





Tour Permits

Commercial Driver's License Compliance

Winter Camping Safety

Winter Sports Safety

Leader Recognition Knots

Official BSA National Website
Local Websites
Cardinal District Activities
Tri-State Area Council

Clipart used on this site